Please Wait....
Your Experience is being rendered.
Click the [Live] button if the Experience does not load in few moments.

The ING Australian Grand Prix is a Formula One race held that is part of the annual Formula One championship season. It is currently held at the Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit in Albert Park, and prior to that, was held at the Adelaide Street Circuit in Adelaide. The event was held annually since 1928 before it became part of the Formula One championship in 1985.

During its Adelaide days, the Australian Grand Prix was the final round of the Championship, replacing the Portuguese Grand Prix in that respect. As the final round of the season, the Grand Prix hosted a handful of memorable Grand Prix, most notably the 1986 and 1994 event which saw those respective titles decided. The Grand Prix then moved to Melbourne from the 1996 event and, excluding the 2006 race, has hosted the first round of the championship.

In terms of Grand Prix victories, Michael Schumacher and McLaren are the most successful driver and team respectively. After Michael Schumacher's retirement, David Coulthard, Rubens Barrichello and Giancarlo Fisichella will be the only drivers to have started every single Melbourne race.

Australian Formula 1